Tempeh has never been a favorite of mine, but I’ve been impressed by what others have done with it in various dishes.  When I saw this recipe on Healthy Crush, I knew I had to try it out.  I also knew that the beans and the basil would be the star components in this dish.  I ended up swapping out a few things but the essence of the dish is really the same.  Take a look here for the original recipe and a great picture.  (my picture didn’t come out very well)

As it turned out I thought the dish was tasty, hearty and filling.  I’m still not a huge fan of the tempeh but it was good.  I opted to leave the raisins out and I sprinkled some parmesan cheese instead of the goat cheese on top.  Next time I will use another type of bean for the tempeh, like maybe chick peas.  So, though not my favorite, another example of how eating clean and healthy ingredients can taste good and be very very easy.  This took all of 20 minutes to prep ingredients and cook.

The beans are full of soluble fiber which lowers cholesterol, stabilizes blood glucose levels, aids in digestion and sustains your hunger.  And the basil, well the basil is amazing.  This little herb that is so tasty has some great health benefits.  Basil has anti-inflammatory and anti-bacterial properties, it is a rich source of vitamins and minerals specifically beta-carotene, vitamin A and lutein.  And it is relatively high in iron, something I never knew.

If you have a dish with either beans or basil you’d like to share, leave it in the comments.  I love hearing from you.

amber

