This recipe is one that I pulled from a very old Oxygen Magazine, ripped out and stored for another day.  Now that I’ve stumbled across it more than a year later, it seems time to try it out.  I was attracted to the ease of the recipe, the simple ingredients and the fact that I think my children will enjoy them as much as myself.  While sugar is something I try not to use too often moderation is key and with a good organic almond butter, this cookie can be a sweet treat as well as a sustaining snack.  They were certainly a hit, lasted only a couple of days in the house and I’ve gotten a request to make them again already.

I tweaked the recipe a bit replacing the dark chocolate chunks with semi-sweet chocolate chunks but either would be delicious.

ingredients

1 c unsalted almond butter, stirred well

¾ c raw sugar

1 large egg

1/2t baking soda

1/2t sea salt

1/2c choc chunks

 

directions

 

preheat oven to 350 degrees

in a medium bowl, stir together first five

   ingredients until blended. Stir in chocolate.

drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto parchment

   lined baking sheets.

bake for 10-12 minutes until lightly browned.    

let cool on baking sheets for 5 minutes.

remove to a wire rack and let cool 15 more minutes.

If you get a chance to try these, enjoy.  I’d love to hear any variations you try as well, comment below.

:) amber

