We sometimes struggle in my house to find snacks that are easy, tasty, new and healthy.  With my new love of hemp seeds and desire to try out my chia seeds this recipe was just the one to try.  I found it on a random site and revised it just a bit to suit our tastes.  Both the kids and I liked them a lot though next time I’d probably add a little more chocolate chips and put a little less honey in.

 

They are such an easy no-bake bar I think anyone can do it and I’m sure they would be great with different nuts or even dried fruit. 

 

ingredients

3 1/2c rolled oats

2 c puffed brown rice cereal

¼ c hempseeds

¼ c chia seeds

¼ c ground flax seeds

¾ c sliced almonds

¾ c mini chocolate chips

½ c organic honey

¾ c almond butter

½ c coconut oil, melted

1 1/2t vanilla   

 

directions

mix dry ingredients together in a large bowl

in a separate bowl, mix together wet ingredients

add wet to dry and mix thoroughly

place mixture in a baking dish and cover with parchment paper

press down firmly and evenly

put in the refrigerator for at least an hour

remove and cut when chilled thoroughly

 

 

Besides the hemp seeds I’ve been especially in love with coconut oil.  I’m now using it for everything from sautéing vegetables to baking.  Chia seeds are my newest super food addition and are packed with fiber, protein, omega-3 fatty acids as well as high in antioxidants.

 

If you decide to try another variation of theses bars, I’d love to hear about it.

 

enjoy, amber

