You may have heard that one of the common uses for ginger is to alleviate nausea and stomach discomfort. Many people use candied ginger to settle an upset stomach perhaps because it neutralizes toxins and helps digestion. What you may not know is that ginger has heating qualities, good for vata and pitta constitutions. Ginger can alleviate inflammation that accompanies the common cold, it reduces sinus discomfort as well as congestion. So, I’ve been a bit obsessed with tea these days. Perhaps because the cooler Fall weather has settled in or because I’ve been battling an unwavering illness. Or maybe I just can’t get enough of that warm, sweet, soothing escape found in each comforting cup. But I digress. This past week I began consuming tea for medicinal purposes as well. I picked up some fresh ginger, grated it and let it steep in a mesh container. I then added one of my favorite teas and some agave nectar. Consuming a couple cups of this tea each day and I was feeling better in no time. How easy is that? And no meds needed, which is always good.

